Tags

, , , , , , ,

Truth about Designing. (Taken from http://aidanfoley.files.wordpress.com)

Truth about Designing.

First, I have to say, I am not a professional designer. Neither am I a professional artist or an University Art degree holder. I am simply pushing my ideas forward to many to see. I love art, and therefore I love designing.

Never lose your passion.

1. I have a passion for it.

Yes, the most important thing about starting a design blog. In fact, before starting any long term commitment, there must lie an undying passion; the interminable fire that burns inside of you.

Imagine this. You found WordPress. You get inspired. You created a blog. You wrote your first blog entry. You fantasied about being the Brat Pitt or Angelina Jolie in the internet world. You waited. You are disappointed. You terminated the blog. THE END.

This is one of those “orz” moment for me where I felt that this is something that is lacking in many people in our society. Those who succeed are those who do, and they are really committed to it. Singapore’s very own food recommendation website only took flight this year, while the founders started this business 6 years ago. Dedication is not only important, but necessary.

Left and Right brain.

2. Helps me to become a better writer.

Many people I believe, including designer bloggers, may not expect this reason from me. As mentioned before I am not a professional designer. Not to mention that English is actually my second language. General Paper is around the corner and I am rather inferior comparing to those “pro” writers in my institution who have been saturated with the highest standard of education ever since they were born.

Practice makes perfect. It not only applies to designing, but also to writing and all other realms of skills. With the right attitude and the right amount of practice, anyone can be a Designer.

Have FUN!

Have FUN!

3. To have Fun!

When I first told a throng of my friends that I have a blog, they were not amused. However, when I did give the second message that the blog is actually a blog specially dedicated to academic writing, they were utterly “amused”, or in other words, utterly disappointed. I have to admit that doing the whole academic dairy thing is much of a dread experience. It was dull, nonetheless.  I can’t recall when this name calling thing started, but I am, not surprisingly, been labelled as a “mugger”. A word that is usually used to describe someone who studies very hard, often to a socially unacceptable extent. Clearly, using a blog as a platform for publishing academic writings is “socially unacceptable”, and there I am, incipiently creating a brand new blog, under a brand new theme, catering to a brand new group of audience.

That’s all folks! I hope you would one day find some reasons to start your own blogs too. If you are already a blogger, keep it up. If you are not, keep “orz”ing!